Fiddling with widgets.

17 Aug

I didn’t do a speck of work today.  Instead, I spent all day fiddling with the various widgets and settings on this blog.

I’ll be going out soon to one of the salsa spots on the MapKit widget.  If you’re a salsero or salsera in Toronto, feel free to add locations to the map, or add your notes to existing locations, or even “steal” the map for your own use.  All I ask for is a little blog love :).

The Sonific widget has some surprisingly good music.  Too bad I can only have one.  It would be nice to have one Sonific widget for bachata, one for salsa, and one for other music, like cumbia, merengue and reggaeton.  I’ve put in a request to WordPress for more :).  One might notice that I’ve removed the title from the Sonific widget, because the title becomes a hyperlink to Sonific’s site, which I think is a bit excessive.

One might also notice that I’m using the RSS widget sort of like a hot button, to make it easier to subscribe to this feed, should anyone want to :).  I’ve put in a request to WordPress to allow the RSS widget to show 0 (zero) items.  This would make the button cleaner for my purposes.  Just in case anyone was wondering, no, I don’t really want to subscribe to my own feed.  This is just a work-around.

No, I am not a software geek.  I’m actually a newbie to blogging, so I don’t know where this blog will ultimately go, or to what purpose.  For now, I’ll use it for my own amusement, and to organize my thoughts as a salsa gigolo/ geek in TO.

3 Responses to “Fiddling with widgets.”

  1. Maria August 18, 2007 at 4:19 pm #

    Welcome to blogging! We definitely need more salsa-oriented blogs– at least I have not been very fruitful in my search for them. I look forward to reading your posts.

  2. salsagigolo August 18, 2007 at 6:21 pm #

    Thanks for the welcome :).

  3. salsagigolo August 19, 2007 at 6:37 pm #

    Thanks to Barry @ WordPress »for answering my question, and pointing me to the WordPress Forums » :).

Leave a Reply

