One, two, three, tap.

17 Aug

When a bachata comes on, I need to dance.  It’s not like a salsa, which I can dance or not dance.  I feel no loss if I miss a salsa.  When a bachata comes on, my body reacts with hunger.  I need to dance bachata.

Bachata is about love, and hope, and memory.  An infectious rhythm, a romantic or sad story, a man and woman submitting to each other, sharing their humanity with each other, for just a moment.  This is bachata.

My philosophy for bachata is to dance it simply.  Simple steps, simple turns.  And close.  The closer the better.  Cheek-to-cheek is special and rare.  One, two, three, tap.

Leave a Reply

