Salsa brings the id out of me.

24 Aug

I stumbled across this wikipedia article about the id, ego, and super-ego ». Naturally, I gravitated to the part about the id:

“The id is responsible for our basic drives such as food, sex and aggressive impulses, and demands immediate satisfaction. It is amoral and egocentric, ruled by the pleasure-pain principle; it is without a sense of time; completely illogical; primarily sexual; infantile in its emotional development; will not take ‘no’ for an answer; is without verbal representation and therefore does not enter consciousness. It is regarded as the reservoir of the libido or “love energy”.”

I used to say that salsa brings the kid out of me, but maybe it’s the id.  Before salsa, I did not stay out until 4am or 5am.  Before salsa, I did not embrace a woman without at least exchanging names.  Before salsa, I would have been happy with any one of a number of salseras I dance with.  Now I want them all.  I’m like an id in a candy store.

Leave a Reply

