Swing Time.

2 Dec

Yesterday and today was all snow and freezing rain. Good days to stay indoors, and watch movies. “Glamour Addiction” » inspired me to watch “Swing Time” », for the first time, featuring Fred Astaire » and Ginger Rogers »:

Dancing in this scene starts from 5:09 onwards. Very poignant. My favourite dialogue starts from 1:52 onwards:

GR – “Does she dance very beautifully?”
FA – “Who?”
GR – “The girl you’re in love with.”
FA – “Yes … Very.”
GR – “The girl you’re engaged to … The girl you’re going to marry.”
FA – “Oh I don’t know … I’ve danced with you … I’m never going to dance again.”

On another note, I wonder what social tap would sound like.  This reminds me of one salsera in TO who has steel dots on the soles of her shoes, like flamenco shoes.  She sounds great when she dances salsa.

2 Responses to “Swing Time.”

  1. Maria December 4, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    I haven’t seen this one, but I’m trying to work my way through all the musicals from the golden ago of hollywood. One thing that surprised me is how relevant a lot of the dialogue is– not old fashioned at all. In that veinm, I highly recommend Top Hat if you haven’t seen it.

  2. salsagigolo December 4, 2007 at 6:39 pm #

    If you haven’t seen Swing Time yet, you can click through to the YouTube page, and see the whole movie, in 12 parts.

    I’m going through Fred Astaire’s and Ginger Roger’s 10 movies they did together. I watched Top Hat last night :). So far, of the two, Swing Time is my favourite, but mainly for that one piece of dialogue.

    Have you ever found your perfect dance partner, and had to let her go? That is the loss that is conveyed so perfectly in this film.

Leave a Reply

