Seven Deadly Salsa Sins.

16 Apr

The Seven Deadly Sins », as they apply to salsa:

Lust
Obsessive or excessive thoughts or desires of a sexual nature. Most of the time, my thoughts are more towards caring and flirting. I want to take care of a salsera. I want to flirt with a salsera. Sometimes, though, the feeling is stronger. I want to kiss a salsera. I want to possess a salsera. Of the seven deadly sins, I am most susceptible to Lust.

Gluttony
The over-indulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste. Is it possible to overindulge in salsa? I think it is safe to say, yes. This is a recipe for salsa burn-out. Is it possible to waste salsa? Again, in a way, yes. Over time, I have learned what elements I like and dislike about salsa. Sometimes I continue to consume those elements that I dislike, thus contributing to waste. Or alternatively, I will fail to consume those elements that I like, thus contributing to another kind of waste: missed opportunity.

Greed
A sin of excess applied to the acquisition of wealth. Wealth in salsa could be in the form of knowledge, skill, or experience, and how we attain such. Why do I seek salsa knowledge? Why do I seek salsa skill? Why do I seek salsa experience? It is not to display my wealth of salsa knowledge, skill or experience. The answer, for me, is to be able to give more to a salsera, on the dance floor. I don’t think Greed will be my downfall.

Sloth
Failure to utilize one’s talents and gifts. Is it possible to be a slothful salsa gigolo? Maybe if one is selfish. Selfish in not dancing with beginners. Selfish in not dancing to a salsera’s level. Selfish in not covering for a partner’s mistakes. Of course, if one doesn’t enjoy it, one would risk committing waste – a sin of Gluttony. Myself, I actually like dancing with beginners. Maybe not all night, but to me, there’s nothing quite as refreshing as a new salsera, who has never taken a salsa lesson.

Wrath
Inordinate and uncontrolled feelings of hatred and anger. This is a very rare emotion, maybe experienced for a microsecond when a wreckless dancer invades my space, but this emotion quickly goes away, because I know I have been guilty of wrecklessness in the past. Instead, the salsa philosophy that I aspire to is one of Love. Love the salsera you’re with.

Envy
Desire something that someone else has which they perceive themselves as lacking. I think this relates to Greed and Lust. For Greed, there was knowledge, skill and experience. I think in the early days, I must have experienced envy towards the more experienced salsa gigolos, for their knowledge, skill and experience, but I was most envious of their ability to make salseras smile on the dance floor. Now, I feel comfortable in my salsa skin, and envy is replaced by respect and admiration. Aww, who am I kidding. I am still envious when I see a fellow salsa gigolo dancing with a salsera I like, even if it’s for just one song.

Pride
A desire to be more important or attractive than others, failing to give compliments to others though they may be deserving of them, and excessive love of self. Is the antidote humility, modesty and shame? Maybe modesty and shame is going too far. Humility is not quite the same as lack of pride, and it has been described as the middle-ground between pride and lack of self-esteem. I don’t dance salsa to feel more important, but I do think it makes me feel more attractive, more confident. I don’t lack self-esteem in my salsa, and my bachata is pretty shameless, but I dance mostly for the salseras, and for myself, not for any audience. Are there any salseras I don’t ask to dance? Are there any salsa gigolos with whom I don’t associate? Yes, and if I were to ask myself why, it is likely that Pride would be at the root of the answer. Pride is a tricky one.

I wonder if they dance bachata in Heaven, or is dancing the Devil?

3 Responses to “Seven Deadly Salsa Sins.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If Frankl Danced Salsa. « Salsa Gigolo in TO - May 14, 2009

    […] »/ Political »: There are the seven deadly salsa sins ». And then there are the common debates: On1/On2, cross-body/circular, dura/monga. But I’m not […]

  2. Seven Heavenly Salsa Virtues. « Salsa Gigolo in TO - March 22, 2010

    […] Posted by salsagigolo under philosophy, salsa Leave a Comment  Along with the Seven Deadly Salsa Sins », here are the Seven Heavenly Virtues », as they apply to […]

  3. Goodbye Salsera. « Salsa Gigolo in TO - August 2, 2010

    […] Posted by salsagigolo under balada, salsa, sociology Leave a Comment  When thinking about salsa sins », Lust was the first sin that came to mind. Pride was next. Now, with more time to reflect, I […]

Leave a Reply

