If Confucius Danced Salsa.

20 Apr

The following references are from “The Analects” » of Confucius, translated by Arthur Waley:

Book I, Par. 16:
The Master said, (the good man) does not grieve that other people do not recognize his merits. His only anxiety is lest he should fail to recognize theirs.

Book I, Par. 16

When I dance with a salsera, I always start the same way: basic step, cw turn, cbl. From this, I hope to measure my ability to dance to her strengths. There are times when I want to dance a certain way, because I know this would make her look good. Sometimes it doesn’t work out. This is how I recognize areas for my own improvement.

Book II, Par. 2:
The Master said, If out of the three hundred Songs I had to take one phrase to cover all my teaching, I would say ‘Let there be no evil in your thoughts.’

Book II, Par. 2

For me, Lust is one thought that always seems to enter my mind. Is it natural for a man to be in body contact with a woman he desires, and not lust for her? Salsa will either be my downfall, or will make a monk of me, I think. I’m reading Confucius! My only ‘out’ will be if the Master says Lust is not evil. Doubtful.

Book IV, Par. 17:
The Master said, In the presence of a good man, think all the time how you may learn to equal him. In the presence of a bad man, turn your gaze within!

Book IV, Par. 17

When watching fellow salsa gigolos, I tend to watch mainly those whose dancing I like. What I look for most, is whether a salsa gigolo is dancing with his heart and soul. This is not just about style, musicality, or energy output per cubic salsa gigolo, rather it is something in his connection to his partner and to the music.

3 Responses to “If Confucius Danced Salsa.”

  1. Sam April 20, 2008 at 11:37 pm #

    about the lust: what you resist, persists, stuff you fight will get stronger.

    Lust is not evil! But a lot of actions from people who act out their lust without regards for the other person are.

    Listen to Confucius, try to befriend your lust, enjoy the sensual feeling, but do not let it control your actions.

    This is *so* much fun!

  2. salsagigolo April 21, 2008 at 1:23 am #

    Lust sometimes makes me think naughty thoughts when I’m dancing with a salsera. Naughty thoughts aren’t necessarily evil thoughts. So, ok, I’ll let Lust be my friend for a while …

    p.s. do people always do what you say (i.e. Sam Says … edit: my mistake, I was thinking about Simon Says)? 🙂

  3. Sam April 24, 2008 at 12:38 am #

    Thinking naughty thoughts while dancing? Well, you better should not dream about stuff while dancing, but instead be fully present for the dance and your partner 🙂

    About the p.s. – you got me thinking, actually, it happens quite a lot that people do what I say – funny. Maybe we should rename the game to ‘sam says’ *gg*

Leave a Reply

