Technology vs. Salsa (or Microsoft Windows XP SP3 vs. Norton Internet Security 2008).

25 Jun

I’ve just gone through the joy of updating the software on my computer, and fixing and re-fixing things, so that things now work … almost like before.

It all started when Windows automatically updated something. Unfortunately, this caused my Norton Internet Security 2008 (NIS 2008 ) to stop working. If you’ve ever had to install, un-install, or re-install NIS 2008, you know where this story is going. Short story: I missed out on some salsa.

In between bouts of forehead-to-palm meditation, I reflected on what was actually accomplished over this period of time:

1. I updated my computer. Things now work almost like before.
2. I missed out on some salsa.

To put it another way … Instead of going out to enjoy salsera, I voluntarily chose to stay-in and service my technology, so that things now work almost like before, i.e. no appreciable change or improvement. Perversely though, I feel like I’ve accomplished something, having persevered through this trial-by-technology. I persevered, so that I may salsa perversely another day.

Technology – 1
Salsa Gigolo – 0

One Response to “Technology vs. Salsa (or Microsoft Windows XP SP3 vs. Norton Internet Security 2008).”

Leave a Reply

