Partner Selection (3)/ So In Love.

4 Jul

In my search for my perfect partner, I continue to develop my understanding of what it is that attracts me to a salsera, and what it is that makes me want more from her.

There are some physical traits that a salsera can’t change about herself: her height, her hips, the softness of her fingertips. Then there are traits that a salsera develops, always prone to change: technique, style, heart and soul. As much as a salsa gigolo develops a salsa philosophy — one that determines how he dances, what moves he leads, his state of mind — so does a salsera convey by the way she dances, the way she follows, what is in her heart and soul.

Sometimes I become very greedy for a particular salsera, and I want all my dances to be with her. When she leaves me to dance with another, I feel the pangs of jealousy and loss. When we dance again, I am with a wounded, tender heart, once forsaken, then forgiven, not knowing how long our time will last. I love this feeling.

Opening scene from the movie “Kiss Me Kate” », featuring Kathryn Grayson » and Howard Keel »:

Scene from the movie, “De-Lovely” », a musical biopic of this song’s composer, Cole Porter »:

This is the feeling I seek, song by song, dance by dance … salsera by salsera.

3 Responses to “Partner Selection (3)/ So In Love.”

  1. stilllifeinbuenosaires July 5, 2008 at 10:57 pm #

    Beautiful entry. I know that jealousy.

  2. shailu July 6, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    A comprehensive list of adult & red light areas in mumbai and other cities. Good information about gigolos and there where abouts. Visit:- http://mumbai-red-light.blogspot.com

  3. salsagigolo July 6, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    stilllifeinbuenosaires, thanks – the arrangement of the 2nd clip seems very tango-able.

    shailu, thanks – if I ever find myself in Mumbai, I now know where about I should be!

Leave a Reply

