One Hundred Years of Salsera.

1 Sep

The following references are from “One Hundred Years of Solitude” » by Gabriel García Márquez », translated by Gregory Rabassa »:

Pg. 310, Par. 1:
“What did you expect?” he murmured. “Time passes.”
“That’s how it goes,” Úrsula said, “but not so much.”
When she said it she realized that she was giving the same reply that Colonel Aureliano Buendía had given in his death cell, and once again she shuddered with the evidence that time was not passing, as she had just admitted, but that it was turning in a circle.

Pg. 310, Par. 1

Circles of time
7-day circles
28-day circles
364-day circles
Turn-patterns of life
Time passes
But not so much

I am in a comfortable cycle of circles. Where one circle ends, another begins, and I am in no rush to fill these circles. Instead, I allow these circles to form, and unform, to fill, and unfill, to exist, and extinguish.

It is almost two years, for me, in this circle of salsera. Where one salsera ends, another begins. Salsa anxiety has mostly left me. I now enter the circle of salsera with an empty mind, and allow the music to fill me, for better or worse.

I think back, fondly, of an old man who used to tell me how much he loved to dance. Salsa, I think it was. I remember thinking that this old man was being rather frivolous with his life. I now wonder if, in one hundred years, I will be that old salsa gigolo.

“For All Time”, by Soluna »:

Live version:
Salsa Gigolometer 80

Leave a Reply

