Forbidden Salsera (2).

30 Jun

It is the season of Forbidden Salsera », and no matter how hard I try to be good, I seem constantly drawn to the forbidden fruit of their temptation. And the more forbidden, the better. Is it the having of what one should not have? The tasting of what one should not taste? Why is their fruit available to me in the first place? Why are they so fun to chase?

I must not be trying too hard to be good, but who wants good? Afterall, spicy salsa is supposed to be a little bad. I prefer the R-rated kind of connection vs. the PG-13 kind of connection. And I prefer the R-rated kind of salsera vs. the PG-13 kind of salsera. My problem, I think, is that I can never say ‘no’ when a salsera says ‘yes’, even if she is forbidden salsera.

I was re-reading some stories on Edie’s Salsa Stories » website, and came across this entertaining 10-part series describing a salsa gigolo’s progress from beginner to player to post-player:
1 » 2 » 3 » 4 » 5 » 6 » 7 » 8 » 9 » 10 »
This is followed by a Commentary », and the 2nd post in this Commentary is a very well-written response essay by Alberto. It’s a long read, but I like what he has to say.
Salsa Gigolometer 80

One Response to “Forbidden Salsera (2).”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goodbye Salsera. « Salsa Gigolo in TO - August 2, 2010

    […] the salseras, and one is never enough. Edie’s progression of a salsa gigolo, from beginner to player » to post-player, comes to mind again. Sometimes I feel like a wolf, and salsa is my sheep’s […]

Leave a Reply

