Tango Gigolo Wannabe.

14 Jan

The following references are from:

by Brian Winter ».

This book is an account of the author’s foray into Argentine tango — 1 part tango diary, 1 part history lesson. I have to say, this book was rather tame, considering the potential racy subject matter. At least the history lesson was done well.

Part One: Revolutions and Tangos, Page 4:
“… “Do you get a lot of girls?” I asked him as we settled into our chairs.
“That’s not important. I come to dance the tango. If I go home with a beautiful woman, then that’s fine. But it’s not why I go out.”
“But do you get a lot of girls?”
“Oh yes,” he said quietly, solemnly. “El Tigre has had many women. But I’ll tell you a secret,” he said, leaning in and whispering into my ear: “If it weren’t for the tango, I wouldn’t have gotten laid since 1985.” …”

Part One: Revolutions and Tangos, Page 4

Before the author embarks on paragraphs and paragraphs of history-lesson-but-I-thought-this-was-going-to-be-a-racy-book sleight-of-hand that is about to follow, the author offers a glimmer of truth. Why would any man want to dance tango? Why would any man want to read a book about tango?

Part Two: Ten Strawberry Daiquiris, Please, Page 75:
“… “So, son, why do you want to learn the tango?”
I shrugged. “To meet people, I think.”
“Good, good. Don’t worry, son. We’re going to get you laid.” …”

Part Two: Ten Strawberry Daiquiris, Please, Page 75

This is the side of the milonguero you don’t read about in tango blogs, except for maybe here ». Maybe because most of the better tango blogs are written by tangueras. The dialogue rings true, and I am very glad to know that milongueros are indeed men, or at least boys, afterall.

Part Three: Twice Without Pulling Out, Page 167:
“… “Because you appreciate the tango for what it is. The tango was taken away from me — forbidden — before I really understood my passion for it.”
“Forbidden?”
“You don’t understand. You will one day, when you get married. …””

Part Three: Twice Without Pulling Out, Page 167

Forbidden. It’s always the things we crave most that are forbidden. Why am I drawn to the idea of learning to dance tango? If I were to be really honest with myself, it would be for the tangueras. Forbidden tangueras would be all the sweeter. I not only want all the salseras, but I also want all the tangueras. All the women who dance, for that matter.

Part Four: She Beautiful, Page 203:
“… “Why are you guys friends with me anyway?” I slurred.
El Nene smiled. “We’ve been trying to corrupt you,” he said in English. “And by the looks of it, we’ve done a fine job.” …”

Part Four: She Beautiful, Page 203

The author had his fling with tango for 4 years, but he has since left tango behind and is now living a tango-free married life in the suburbs. Based on this interview », one gets the sense that he now has a better understanding of ‘forbidden’.
Salsa Gigolometer 100

Leave a Reply

