Into The Salsera Wilderness.

6 Sep

The following references are from:

by Jon Krakauer ».

A biography about one man following his dreams.

Chapter Seven: Carthage, Pages 65-66:
“… Chastity and moral purity were qualities McCandless mulled over long and often. Indeed, one of the books found in the bus with his remains was a collection of stories that included Tolstoy’s “The Kreutzer Sonata,” in which the nobleman-turned-ascetic denounces “the demands of the flesh.” Several such passages are starred and highlighted in the dog-eared text, the margins filled with cryptic notes printed in McCandless’s distinctive hand. And in the chapter on “Higher Laws” in Thoreau’s Walden, a copy of which was also discovered in the bus, McCandless circled “Chastity is the flowering of man; and what are called Genius, Heroism, Holiness, and the like, are but various fruits which succeed it.” …”

Chapter Seven: Carthage, Pages 65-66

There are times when I’ve taken a vow of celibacy, only to be tempted by succulent salsera succubi. It’s no surprise that salsa and celibacy doesn’t work. Salsa and sin, yes. Salsa and sex, yes and yes. Salsa and celibacy, no chance. Even telling a salsera that I’ve taken a vow of celibacy doesn’t work. It only awakens the succulent salsera succubus in her. Good salsa means that someone is being seduced.

Chapter Fifteen: The Stikine Ice Cap, Page 155:
“… It is easy, when you are young, to believe that what you desire is no less than what you deserve, to assume that if you want something badly enough, it is your God-given right to have it. When I decided to go to Alaska that April, like Chris McCandless, I was a raw youth who mistook passion for insight and acted according to an obscure, gap-ridden logic. I thought climbing the Devils Thumb would fix all that was wrong with my life. In the end, of course, it changed almost nothing. But I came to appreciate that mountains make poor receptacles for dreams. And I lived to tell my tale. …”

Chapter Fifteen: The Stikine Ice Cap, Page 155

I’ve always liked that salsa is simple. A salsa gigolo needs only the shoes on his feet, the clothes on his back, some music and a room full of salseras, to be happy. For me, a room full of women who can say the words “salsa gigolo”, would make me happy. What does a salsa gigolo strive for? If a salsa gigolo is honest with himself, he would agree that the reason he learned salsa was for the salseras.

Just one salsera? Relationship salsera? I’m starting to question whether relationship salsera is my Devil’s Thumb. Maybe I’ve been in the salsa wild for too long. My pre-salsa nurture expects relationship. My salsa gigolo nature demands something else.

Chapter Seventeen: The Stampede Trail, Pages 185-186:
“… I bring up McCandless’s hubris and the dumb mistakes he made — the two or three readily avoidable blunders that ended up costing him his life. “Sure, he screwed up,” Roman answers, “but I admire what he was trying to do. Living completely off the land like that, month after month, is incredibly difficult. I’ve never done it. And I’d bet you that very few, if any, of the people who call McCandless incompetent have ever done it either, not for more than a week or two. Living in the interior bush for an extended period, subsisting on nothing except what you hunt and gather — most people have no idea how hard that actually is. And McCandless almost pulled it off.
“I guess I just can’t help identifying with the guy,” Roman allows as he pokes the coals with a stick. “I hate to admit it, but not so many years ago it could easily have been me in the same kind of predicament. When I first started coming to Alaska, I think I was probably a lot like McCandless: just as green, just as eager. And I’m sure there are plenty of other Alaskans who had a lot in common with McCandless when they first got here, too, including many of his critics. Which is maybe why they’re so hard on him. Maybe McCandless reminds them a little too much of their former selves.” …”

Chapter Seventeen: The Stampede Trail, Pages 185-186

Maybe it’s possible for a salsa gigolo to live by relationship salsera alone, but when it starts to feel like climbing a mountain, it’s time to take a break and renew one’s perspective. Rediscover the salsera wilderness, and all the fresh meet salsera one has yet to meat.
Salsa Gigolometer 70

Leave a Reply

