Salsa Virtuous Cycle.

2 Nov

Many times I see a salsa gigolo try to teach a salsera on the dancefloor using words. The challenge is to not use words, but to just lead. Other times I may find myself dancing with a salsera, who gets me excited and I make a mistake, yet she is there for me and covers for my mistake, giving me time to relax and correct myself. To illustrate what is happening, I am pleased to present …

Salsa Virtuous Cycle:

The better a salsa gigolo leads, the better a salsera follows. One way to measure a salsa gigolo’s skill is to observe how well a salsera can follow. The better a salsera looks, the better a salsa gigolo looks. Another way to measure a salsa gigolo’s skill is to observe how he reacts when a salsera does something unexpected. The better he can cover for the unexpected, the better a salsera looks, and again, the better a salsa gigolo looks.

The better a salsera follows, the better a salsa gigolo leads. One way to measure a salsera’s skill is to observe how well a salsa gigolo can lead. The better a salsa gigolo looks, the better a salsera looks. Another way to measure a salsera’s skill is to observe how she reacts when a salsa gigolo does something unexpected. The better she can cover for the unexpected, the better a salsa gigolo looks, and again, the better a salsera looks.

When a salsa gigolo and salsera both share this philosophy, anything and everything is possible in a dance.

Leave a Reply

